Fox Knows Many, Hedgehog One, Solid Trick    
Archilochus, Greek Poet, 7th Century BCE

Warner Literary Group

Welcome

Welcome to Warner Literary Group. We provide literary and entertainment representation for select clients. We offer writers and artists the necessary services for navigating today’s complex marketplace: management and creative development. Our background in development, editing, marketing, and sales supports each and every project. We join efforts to secure valuable contracts, proper marketing, and a long life for creative projects for our clients. Please see our terms and services for further information.

Thanks for your interest in Warner Literary Group.

 

Secondhand Heroes BU Cover Hansen

Enjoy and share Justin LaRocca Hansen’s first volume of the graphic novel Secondhand Heroes trilogy, Brothers Unite, from Dial Books, an imprint of Penguin Random House. Perfect for fans of Amulet, Sidekicks, and Zita the Spacegirl, this action-packed debut will leave readers clamoring for Stretch and Brella’s next adventure. [Film and TV rights available, please contact us for further information.]

Secondhand Heroes (Dial, 10.99) is a superhero story for young readers that is so good that adults will enjoy it as well…. It’s inventive and engaging… Written and illustrated with watercolors by Justin LaRocca Hansen, the graphic novel (series) is a clever story of two boys that feels a little like an American Harry Potter adventure, if Harry lived in the suburbs… The dialogue is solid, the story is much better than it sounds, and it has a great twist ending. Can’t ask for much more than that.” —Mike Sangiacomo, Cleveland’s Plain Dealer comics roundup, Summer 2016

 “In this first book in the Secondhand Heroes trilogy, Hudson and his younger brother, Tucker, know something is up when the umbrella and woolen scarf their mother picks up for them at a yard sale appear to have lives of their own. The castoffs give the brothers superhuman powers; quick to see the possibilities, they improvise costumes, naming themselves Stretch and Brella. Hansen (Monster Hunter) gives the boys worthy villains to defeat and enthusiastic schoolmates to cheer them on. Piling on the fantasy gratification, Hansen teleports them to a medieval village where they meet a dragon, a fire-breathing mentor who cuts them no slack: ‘Also, I am female. If I hear he or him again, in reference to me, I will incinerate you. Continue.’ Hansen meticulously drafts and colors every panel in painterly detail, giving his figures volume and heft. Smart characterization (including a memorable walk-on by a talking squirrel that sounds like a surfer bro), breathlessly paced adventure, and a dire cliff-hanger ending will make readers hope they don’t have to wait long for the sequel. Ages 8–12.”Publishers Weekly

“Hansen works a nifty story out of his clever concept, with genuine humor, realistic characterizations, emotionally intense stakes, and agile battle sequences. The lifelike faces and figural work, as well as the warm, earthy tones of the art, help keep things tied together even when the tale takes a sharp time-traveling left turn into a fantasy world where the boys meet a tough-as-nails dragon who becomes their trainer. Age-appropriate lessons are indeed learned, and the urgent cliff-hanger promises that there are more charmingly sincere adventures ahead.” Booklist

 

Death of a Century thumbnail

Discover Daniel Robinson’s new novel, DEATH OF A CENTURY A Novel of the Lost Generation, available from Arcade.  [Film and TV rights available, please contact us for further information.]

“Robinson does a fine job of bringing Hemingway’s Paris to life.” —Publishers Weekly

“… An entertaining gallop of a story, by a writer both innovative and spellbinding.”  —Kristen Iversen, author of Full Body Burden: Growing Up in the Nuclear Shadow of Rocky Flats.

“A suspense-thriller that poignantly reveals the enduring impact of the First World War on the individual soldier, … [this] tale explodes the myth of peaceful homecoming and explores the loyalty, violence, and desperation that emerges between men during war. A fine addition to those who want to gain a sense of the ‘lost generation,’ and those lost souls who have come home from our latest wars.” —Lt. Col. Michael Stoneham, U.S. Military Academy at West Point

 

Chicken Stock front cover final

“Over a century ago, Upton Sinclair wrote about the horror of the American meat-packing industry in The Jungle, a novel that ultimately led to the creation of the Pure Food and Drug Act. While Lytle may be attempting similar social change with CHICKEN STOCK, this book is far gentler and more human in the story it tells. Berta, her family, and friends are drawn as warm, believable Tennesseans. The novel explores the resilience of the American character as much as it presents arguments against the corporate exploitation of American farms and farmers. In Chicken Stock readers will find a compelling and sympathetic hero, a strong argument for sustainable, natural farming, and a Tennessee novelist worth watching…” —Michael Ray Taylor, for Humanities Tennessee’s publication Chapter 16

CHICKEN STOCK remains a searing testament to love and loss, as well as an intelligent indictment of big agro-business… A compelling, sensitive contribution to the agriculture debate in the U.S.” —Kirkus Reviews

[Film and TV rights available, please contact us for further information.]

 

SIT_COVER_PAPERBACK“In Karla (M.) Jay’s debut novel, a speech therapist moves to the small town of Tungston, Pennsylvania—locally known as ‘Tungs’—and finds colorful characters and a little mystery… Marleigh’s patients come across as three-dimensional people, and the details of her speech therapy work are fascinating.”  —Kirkus Reviews

“The witty, humorous dialogue made SPEAKING IN TUNGS a page-turner. At some points, I was laughing so hard I was crying!”  —April Wood, A Well Read Woman

SPEAKING IN TUNGS is too good to be anyone’s first novel. Is Karla (M.) Jay even the author’s real name? I don’t know the answer but I do know that I enjoyed reading this witty novel with its colorful cast of characters, and so will you.” —Firoozeh Dumas, New York Times bestselling author and Finalist for the Thurber Prize for American Humor

[Film and TV rights available, please contact us for further information.]

The sequel to SPEAKING IN TUNGS is here!

SOTD_COVER_PAPERBACK_FNLCOVER for website

SPEAK OF THE DEVIL by Karla M. Jay.      Marleigh Benning thinks she’s mastered being a home speech therapist in the most remote region of Pennsylvania… and that the steep learning curve is behind her. But in Speak of the Devil further surprises await around the next bend, as her six unpredictable clients throw her for another loop; her relationship with local fireman, Lawyer, heats up to alarm-level arson; and she discovers why her birthparents went underground. The biggest danger Marleigh faces as she traverses the rolling, verdant terrain, going house by house to improve speech and articulation, is her inadvertent entanglement in a clandestine heroin operation.

 

Norwegian by Night Cover

NORWEGIAN BY NIGHT “A soulful, humane, and sparklingly funny novel. Spend some time with Sheldon and company in the Scandinavian wilderness and you just might make peace with your god, your ghosts, and yourself.” — Gary Shteyngart, author of Super Sad True Love Story

A Financial Times Best Book of the Year; An Economist Top Fiction Title of the Year; A Guardian Best Crime & Thriller of the Year; A Kirkus Reviews Best Crime Novel of the Year; Crime Writers Association John Creasey Dagger Award Winner

 

FutureFlash-2Kita Murdock’s FUTURE FLASH received 5 out of 5 Bookworms from 12-year-old Erik on his Book Review Blog for kids.

“…The balance of tension and foreshadowing will entice reluctant readers.” —School Library Journal

[Film and TV rights available, please contact us for further information.]

 

 

SOTS_COVER_FNL

SECRET OF THE SEEDS by Kate Muus, “A timely conspiracy thriller, this novel has a slow start but picks up quickly… The characters are well developed, and teens will easily become invested in them.”  —School Library Journal

[Film and TV rights available, please contact us for further information.]

 

 

Paperback aAfter the Firend ebook editions are available for the first time of Daniel Robinson’s debut novel AFTER THE FIRE.

“…A poignant story about ‘the pull of the past,’ affectingly warm and compassionate.” —Publishers Weekly

“…Another one of those remarkably mature first novels.” —Booklist

[Film and TV rights available, please contact us for further information.]

 

Follow our news developments on Facebook.